More Joyous Shines to Win 2012 Doncaster Mile

April 21st, 2012

Champion mare More Joyous has delivered yet another sensational performance to win the $2 million 2012 Doncaster Mile at Sydney’s Royal Randwick Racecourse today.

With rain in Sydney all week and the fact she had to carry 57.5kg, many pundits refused to give the glamour mare a chance but she proved all the doubters wrong to charge home in front of Shoot Out and Yosei.

The Gai Waterhouse-trained superstar jumped nicely and regular jockey Nash Rawiller held her in a good position just behind the leaders.

As they entered the final straight Rawiller allowed her to show her tremendous turn of speed and she hammered home down the outside to eventually win by nearly a length.

Waterhouse said earlier in the week that if the five-year-old started she would win but even she was in awe of her after the race.

“The most satisfying thing I’ve seen for years. There’s the New South Wales champion mare,” Waterhouse said.

“Such determination…very satisfying, very nice.”

It was a seventh Doncaster win for Waterhouse who today equalled her father Tommy Smith’s record in the mile event.

Rawiller was likewise full of praise for the mare he has ridden to the majority of her 18 career victories.

“What an unbelieveable mare…Doncaster Mile, it’s Sydney’s hardest race to win,” Rawiller said.

“She’s just something special.”

More Joyous has now won 18 races from 25 starts and has a prize pool totalling nearly $4 million.

Doncaster Mile 2012 – Results

Finish No. Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Bar. Weight Starting Price
1 2 MORE JOYOUS (NZ) Gai Waterhouse Nash Rawiller 10 57.5kg $3.70F
2 3 SHOOT OUT Chris Waller Hugh Bowman 0.8L 8 56.5kg $7.50
3 16 YOSEI Stuart Webb Ms Michelle Payne 1.1L 1 52kg $31
4 6 SINCERO Stephen Farley Craig Williams 1.2L 5 55.5kg $8
5 19 FAST CLIP Gai Waterhouse Jim Cassidy 1.3L 3 52kg $26
6 21 HAPPY TRAILS Paul Beshara Jay Ford 1.4L 17 52kg $31
7 5 ALBERT THE FAT Chris Waller Steven Arnold 2.8L 6 55.5kg $41
8 10 SECRET ADMIRER Grahame Begg Brenton Avdulla 3.5L 19 54kg $9.50
9 17 ABSOLUTELY Michael Kent Luke Nolen 3.8L 13 52kg (cd 52.5kg) $51
10 1 RANGIRANGDOO (NZ) Chris Waller Michael Rodd 3.9L 15 58kg $17
11 22 ALL LEGAL Kevin Moses Ms Kathy O’Hara 4L 9 52kg $151
12 14 MONTON Ron Quinton Craig Newitt 4.4L 16 52.5kg $21
13 11 CENTENNIAL PARK (NZ) David Payne Blake Shinn 5L 2 54kg $81
14 8 HAPPY ZERO Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes James McDonald 5.5L 18 54.5kg $71
15 7 DANLEIGH Chris Waller Kerrin McEvoy 7.4L 7 55kg $41
16 13 HURTLE MYRTLE Matthew Smith Glyn Schofield 7.6L 12 53kg $11
17 15 HE’S REMARKABLE (NZ) Roger James Christian Reith 8.3L 4 52.5kg $31
18 9 WALL STREET (NZ) Michael Moroney Damien Oliver 10L 11 54.5kg $26
19 18 NIAGARA Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry 16.3L 14 52kg $8.50